Monday, November 30, 2009

BBC African Footballer of the Year 2009

The five candidates for the 2009 BBC African Footballer of the Year award have been revealed on the BBC's African sports programme Fast Track.

The nominees are: Didier Drogba, Michael Essien, Samuel Eto'o, Tresor Mputu Mabi and Yaya Toure.

You can vote for your choice right up until 4 January and the winner will be announced four days later.

The prestigious award is the only one of its kind to be decided ultimately by the fans.

Vote for your favourite here ... 2009.shtml and see full profiles of all the nominees

The BBC canvassed football experts across Africa to compile the shortlist.

BBC Fast Track presenter Farayi Mungazi said: "This award is all about performance over the last twelve months so only two of last year's contenders have made it onto the list, with no place for Adebayor or Aboutrika.

"Once again it's great to see a player based in Africa on the shortlist with TP Mazembe's Tresor Mputu Mabi in with a chance".

Last year's winner was Mohamed Aboutrika of Al Ahly and Egypt after he helped his country to retain the Africa Cup of Nations and then won the African Champions League with his club.

Previous winners of the BBC African Footballer of the Year award:

2008 - Mohamed Aboutrika

2007 - Emmanuel Adebayor

2006 - Michael Essien

2005 - Mohamed Barakat

2004 - Jay-Jay Okocha

2003 - Jay-Jay Okocha

2002 - El Hadji Diouf

2001 - Sammy Kuffour

2000 - Patrick Mboma

No comments:

Post a Comment