Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Fifa decide seeded teams

Brazil, Spain, Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Argentina and England will join Bafana Bafana as seeded teams for the World Cup Final draw on Friday.
The Fifa Organising Committee also approved the composition of the other pots, as well as the procedure for the final draw:

Pot 2 will be composed of teams from Asia (Australia, Japan, Korea DPR, Korea Republic), North, Central America and the Caribbean (Honduras, Mexico, USA) and Oceania (New Zealand)

Pot 3 will include teams from Africa (Algeria, Cameroon, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Nigeria) and South America (Chile, Paraguay, Uruguay)

Pot 4 will have the remaining European teams (Denmark, France, Greece, Portugal, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland)

Hosts South Africa will be automatically positioned as A1; the other seeded teams will be drawn into the other groups B-H, but will always be in position “1” of their group

Groups will be drawn from A to H and the positions in the group will be drawn for Pots 2 to 4

Geographical criteria will also be respected, meaning that no two teams from the same confederation will be drawn in the same group (except European teams, where a maximum of two will be in a group).

For example, South Africa cannot play the African teams from Pot 3 and Argentina and Brazil cannot be drawn against the three remaining South American teams.

No comments:

Post a Comment